Updated: 2020 Formula 1 calendar & Schedule

Other Sports
  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Racing organizers announced to «Formula 1» Today, Friday, Grand Prix races will not be held in the United States, Brazil, Mexico, and Canada this year.

"After long discussions and in close cooperation with our partners, and given the very changing nature of the situation on the Covid-19 pandemic front, the restrictions imposed at the local level and the importance of maintaining the health of local communities and our colleagues, it will not be possible to race in Brazil, United States, Mexico, and Canada this season ».

Organizers stressed that the goal is still to organize 15 to 18 races despite the turmoil caused by the spread of a pandemic coronavirus«Covid-19».

Three races have already been held since the resumption of competitions early this month, with the start being in Austria with two races at the Red Bull Ring in Spielberg, before moving to Hungary at the Hungaroring circuit.

The tournament was scheduled to start in mid-March last year from Australia, but its start was postponed due to "Covid-19" which caused the cancellation and postponement of many races, before launching today from Austria in front of empty stands of fans, and under strict procedures that included changing the usual form of celebrations after End of the race.

The organizers pointed to the introduction of three new European races on the calendar, where a race will be held in Germany at the Nurburgring circuit on October 11, and another in Portugal at the Portimao circuit on the 25th of the same month, and in Emilia-Romagna, Italy, on the famous Imola circuit in the first of November.

"We are pleased to welcome Portimao as a new arena in the Formula calendar and to see the return of Imola and Norburgring, which have already hosted Grand Prix races in the past," the statement said.

Two other races are scheduled to take place at the Silverstone circuit, "the United Kingdom", one in Barcelona "Spain", one at the spa "Belgium", two in Italy "Monza and Mugello" and one in Russia "Sochi".

The remainder of the World Championship calendar has become as follows:

- August 2: The Great Britain Prize "Silverstone".

August 9: Grand Prix to celebrate the 70th anniversary of the Formula One launch, "Silverstone".

August 16: Spanish Grand Prix “Barcelona”.

August 30: Belgium Grand Prix "Spa".

September 6: The Italian Grand Prix "Monza".

September 13: Tuscany Grand Prix "Mugello".

September 27: Russia's "Sochi Grand Prize".

October 11: Eiffel Grand Prix "Nurburgring".

October 25th: Portugal Grand Prix "Portimao".

November 1: Emilia Romagna Award “Imola”.

The final race of the season is also expected to be held in Abu Dhabi in mid-December.